I’ll Start Off My Blog With My Favorite Book

What’s my favorite book? The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen.

I got this book about a year and a half ago, and I’ve probably read it seven times since then. I love it. I absolutely love it. It is a YA book. It is a realistic fiction romance book. But it’s a lot deeper than just “chick lit.” The book is told from the first-person point of view of Macy Queen. She just lost her father is trying to deal with her grief by being perfect. Over the summer, she gets a job at Wish Catering which is the opposite of perfect. It is crAzy and chaotic and disorganized. By starting to live a little, Macy learns some important lessons and makes some true friends. Kristy is eccentric and not afraid to be herself. Monica “Monotone” doesn’t say much, but is quite observant. Bert is passionate and easygoing. Delia is loving and provides guidance for Macy. And, then there’s Wes. Oh, Wes. He definitely isn’t perfect, and he doesn’t expect perfection. He likes flaws. He thinks they make a person more interesting.

I HIGHLY recommend this book. I HIGHLY recommend Sarah Dessen in general. She captures the mindset and dialogue of teens, and she makes well-rounded, three-dimensional characters.

Hope you enjoyed my first post. And I may end up doing reviews of other stuff, too. Or just giving my opinions on stuff. But it’ll mainly be books.

Leave a Reply

