The Hunger Games

Ohmigosh!! So, I just finished The Hunger Games. And I am shocked and in suspense and pretty much speechless.

When I first heard about the books I never even considered reading them since I rarely read fantasy anymore. I mostly stick to teen romances (ex. Sarah Dessen-esque). But, everyone was talking about how amazing the books were, so I decided to see for myself. I read the first few pages, but set it down for a couple of weeks because schoolwork got pretty overwhelming.

This past week I picked it up again and found I couldn’t stop! I was shocked. If you don’t know the overall story line, here it is:

It’s set in a world far into the future once our current society has been destroyed. It is set in N. America, though. The country is called Panem, with a capitol, and it is split up into 12 districts. The main character, set from her perspective, Katniss Everdeen, lives in the poorest district, district 12. Every year, (for a complicated reason that you’ll have to read the books to find out why) the Capitol, which is basically the evil government, holds the Hunger Games. Kids ages 12-18 must enter their name in a bowl, and a boy and a girl from each district must participate in the Games. In the games, the tributes (the name for the people in the games), must fight to the death in a deadly arena that the whole country must watch at home on tv screens. Katniss is choosen, and you follow her journey.

Yeah, that was long, but it was pretty short considering how complicated everything is. Even if you’re not into the whole “futuristic society” thing, I still suggest you give them a try. Remember, I was quite skeptical.

I must say, the ideas is very sick if you think about it for too long. It definitely has some romance in it, which I loved. And the ending was, to me, shocking, happy, sad, angering, but kinda had to happen (at least the VERY ending, even though I really didn’t want it to). If you want to know what I’m talking about. Read it. I’ll keep you updated as I read the next ones.

And, P.S. I know I’m a little late to be jumping on this bandwagon.

3 thoughts on “The Hunger Games

  1. Yes, you are a little late XD I read that book more than two years ago! Well, it actually just started gaining fans in the last year. When you get to the last book, Mockingjay, tell me what you think. I have very mixed feelings on it =P

Leave a Reply

