I Finished the Truth About Forever for the Eighth Time

20110727-105034.jpg

I am seriously in love with this book. If you go to my first blog post on this blog you’ll find my review of it. Since first reading this book less than two years ago, it’s remained at number one on my Favorite Books Of All Time list. (Others included would be: the whole Harry Potter series, duh; the summer series; twenty boy summer; along for the ride; just listen; etc.)

ANYWAY… let me give you the description of the book that’s on the back. It totally does the book justice, but there’s also so much more to the book than what it talks about.

a long hot summer… That’s what Macy has to look forward to while her boyfriend, Jason, is away at Brain Camp. Days will be spent at a boring job in the library, evenings will be filled with vocabulary drills for the SATs, and spare time will be passed with her mother, the two of them sharing a silent grief at the traumatic loss of Macy’s father.

But sometimes unexpected things can happen–things such as the catering job at Wish, with its fun-loving, chaotic crew. Or her sister’s project of renovating the neglected beach house, awakening long-buried memories. Things such as meeting Wes, a boy with a past, a taste for Truth-telling, and an amazing artistic talent, the kind of boy who could turn any girl’s world upside down. As Macy ventures out of her shell, she begins to wonder, Is it really better to be safe than sorry?

If you’ve read this book, let me know! Tell me what you think.

If you’ve been reading my blog, you probably know how much I LOVE Sarah Dessen. She is my absolute favorite author. In my opinion, though, she just out does herself with this particular story. These particular characters. These particular problems that are faced.

While not everyone has had to deal with grief I feel that everyone to some extent has tried to reach some level of perfection. It can be quite easy to relate Macy’s insecurities.

And the characters are perfectly imperfect. I love kristy, Macy’s newfound friend. She has so much personality and is well-rounded. I love her crazy fashions and her great outlook on life. Bert is just so Bert, as Wes put it. I love what Monica says to Macy at the end of the book. I love how Delia takes Macy under her wing. But most of all I love Wes. SA-WOON!!! I love his background and why he decided to become a better guy. I love how he’s an artist. And I love how truthful he is. How he says or gestures at the perfect moment. How he’s there for Macy. I could go on.

This just became a really long post. And I probably repeated stuff from my original post on this book. But honestly, I just can’t stop gushing over his book!!

Please, let me know what you think!!

Leave a Reply

