Love Actually

So, I just finished watching the movie Love Actually with actors like Hugh Grant, Colin Firth, Keira Knightly, Alan Rickman (Snape), etc.

Follows the lives of eight very different couples in dealing with their love lives in various loosely and interrelated tales all set during a frantic month before Christmas in London, England.

It’s Valentine’s Day-esque. If you’ve seen that movie.

I thought it was a pretty cute movie. And I loved their British accents. Some of the relationships were a bit sucky. Like he one with Alan Rickman. I loved the prime minister relationship and the portuguese one. They were really sweet.

But, the little boy was my absolute favorite.

I loved how it was set around christmastime because that’s one of my favorite times of year. It made me want it to be December. And I loved how the movie started and ended at the airport. And I liked what the narrator said at the beginning of the movie. Here’s the quote:

“Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often, it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaking suspicion… love actually is all around.”

Overall, good movie. Check it out. If you like romcoms.

Leave a Reply

