Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

“About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered a reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace, and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia. And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust, and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison. As Yelena tries to escape her dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and she develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life’s at stake again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren’t so clear! “

So, my friend convinced me to read this book. It’s totally not my style, and to be honest, I really wasn’t sure I’d like it. But she said it would be good. So, what could I really lose? If I didn’t like it, I could stop. But it was actually pretty amazing.

The totally unique setting kept me wanting to find out more. There was definitely a bit of romance, but it softened and added to the book. And it didn’t dominate the plotline either. It was woven in. It was exciting to follow along on Yelena’s many adventures, and there’s even a sequel (Magic Study).

I’d recommend this book to either guys or girls. I think it definitely works for both. If only for the romance, maybe it leans a little towards the feminine side. But barely. Go pick up the book, it won’t be a mistake. There are many layers that are continuously being pulled away, making the story far more complex than it sounds. Good read:)

P.S. I stopped in the middle of Fortunes of Indigo Skye by Deb Caletti to read Poison Study, but I plan to continue it. And it’s really good. I’ll get the review up soon. Sorry I’ve been totally absent. And, yeah, I’m still working on rereading Keeping the Moon, but I’m not sure that goal will ever be completed…?

Leave a Reply

