My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

So, I got my books yesterday!! And I finished My Life Next Door today…

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them…until one summer night Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha–even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is is time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

This story was absolutely amazing!! The perfect start-of-summer read:) I would even say, quite possibly, that it’s comparable to The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen (my favorite book ever!).

Samantha is rich and privileged, and she’s lived a sheltered life. But she’s not snobby about it at all. She’s pretty down-to-earth and real, and very put together. But she’s also a very relatable and open-minded character despite her sheltered life and opinionated mother.

Jase is quite SA-WOON worthy!! He comes from a huge family, third in line, and is very thoughtful, kind, caring, and hot! Sometimes he comes off really grown up, and then, when you least expect it, he’s so innocent and cautious. He’s an amazing male lead!!! He’s so understanding of Sam and patient and loving.

I love how Samantha and Jase fall so intensely in love. How their relationship is so solid. And very realistic. It develops at a really good pace and their relationship development is so sweet.

I love Jase’s family. It sounds amazing. A big, cozy, crazy, chaotic, loving family. A stark contrast to Sam’s. Her mom is quite the bitch I must say. Her older sister is fun and care free but she’s away for the summer.

The characters are really quite similar to The Truth About Forever. But this is still a separate, entirely different story that is just as addicting and fabulous. I’m not sure if I can begin to stop praising it.

Yes, I’ll admit that it’s a bit cliche. There’s a girl, with a seemingly perfect life, who has a problem. She meets this boy and they fall madly in love. The boy is perfectly imperfect. Then tragedy strikes, which ends up affecting the perfectly imperfect relationship. But, in the end everything comes together. But, I love those kind of stories. Feel-good, can’t-put-down stories that take place in the summer.

This is a must read and a good beach read. By the way, I stayed up until 3am reading it. I never do that. Ever. Seriously, it’s soooooo good!

Spoilers****

;

;

Spoilers************ Really, don’t read this unless you’ve read the book.

Okay, Sam’s mom is such a condescending bitch (like Macy’s mom from The Truth About Forever). She thinks she’s soooo much better than the Garrett’s because she’s got a small, sad, empty life and money. WTF??? Oh, and the mom’s anal vacuuming habits. That was a little weird. Like, vacuuming her kids out the door? Um… I bought she was very unrelatable, and a zombie/puppet under the manipulative hand of her boyfriend. And she wasn’t very motherly. Like, at all.

Clay Tucker. What is up with him??? He’s so creepy. Manipulative. I know, he’s supposed to be, but he just disgusts me…Which he should, but still. And how and why was he even helping Samantha’s mom in the first place??

And George is absolutely adorable!! He just says the darnedest things!! Other than Jase, he is my favorite Garrett.

Andy’s little (short!) romance on the side is so cute, too! She epitomizes middle school lobe and drama in such a sweet way: asking for advice her family and being quite melodramatic at times.

And how Alice is fiercely protective of Jase. She’s quite her own character. She won’t take bs from anyone, and she knows how to handle stuff.

I also really liked Tim. He was a total loserrrr in the beginning, but when he got his act together, he was such an awesome friend.

But what happened with Nan?? Is Tim just Sam’s friend instead now? I totally understand where Nan was coming from, but…her end of the story wasn’t tied up very well.

By the way, the front cover is just amazing! It screams summer!

Jase and Sam<;33333 They’re so affectionate and understanding and playful and perfect for each other!!!!! Sighhhh!! I just can’t get over how awesome this book is.

Okay, the spoilers weren’t that spoiler-ish. But, I feel like you should get to know all of the characters the way the author laid it out.

So…go buy the book!!

**by the way, if you read this post when I initially put it up, I have added some stuff. I felt like I hadn’t said everything that I could have. When I first wrote up the post I wrote it in that just-having-finished-an-amazing-book haze where all you can think about is how in love you are with all of the characters.

Leave a Reply

