The Help (Book and Movie)

So, I just recently watched the movie The Help. I read the book last year, but I guess I forgot to post about it. But, I loved both! I’m really glad that I read the book before the movie because, like always, the book was better.

In case you don’t know what it’s about: The book takes place in Jackson, Mississippi in the 1960s. One of the white women, Skeeter, realizes the discrimination and injustices that the “help” or black housemaids experience. She wants to bring awareness by interviewing the help and putting a book together. There are also other storylines but that’s the main one.

I feel like both the book and movie are eye openers and evoke a good bit of emotion.

Pros and cons about he movie:
Pros- Emma Stone is awesome as Skeeter. Main housemaids, Abileen and Minnie are played extremely well. And Hilly the main bitch is fabulously played as well. It evokes emotion and made me tear up a bit.
Cons-It felt quite a bit more rushed than the book but it’s understandable.

Go read it. Then watch it.

One thought on “The Help (Book and Movie)

Leave a Reply

