Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

A good book.

Amy Curry lost her father in a car crash only three months ago. Now, it’s June and her mother has decided to uproot Amy and her brother, Charlie, across the country to Connecticut. Amy’s mother is in Connecticut setting up their new home, and Charlie is in North Carolina for rehab for drug addiction. Amy was left in California to finish up her junior year. A childhood friend who Amy can’t remember, Roger, 19, is driving Amy across the country because she hasn’t driven since her father’s death and Roger is spending the summer in Philadelphia with his dad. The novel follows Amy and Roger as they explore the country and come to terms with the issues in their lives. They stop at a wide variety if places such as Yosemite, Colorado, Louisville, Asheville, Graceland, etc.

I really really enjoyed this book. I liked the format of the story. Throughout the book there are pictures if the places they encountered along the way, receipts from the various eateries, and playlists from their long journey.

I also liked how it took place over a road trip. I feel like it’s a unique approach to a story and it doesn’t feel like I’ve heard this story already.

Roger is pretty lovable. Probably the only thing that bothers me about him is that he’s not flawed enough. I feel like all characters should be pretty flawed because all people are pretty flawed making characters more realistic.

The one other thing that bothered me a little bit was how every time Amy’s dad was brought up there was a whole spiel about how difficult it was for any to think about him, etc. now, don’t get me wrong, I emphasize for people who have lost a loved one, but I think Matson could have displayed the struggles less often and a little more subtly.

Other than that, I have nothing but praises for this book. I could not put the book down! And somehow I managed to finish it in less than a week which is saying something with the amount of homework I have to do.

It’s a summery, feel good, find yourself, happy ending kinda a book. And they’re my favorites!

PS: I love Edmund and Hilary!

Leave a Reply

