The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

I wasn’t quite sure about this book before I started, but I ended up loving it!

rachelkramerbussel.com

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 13, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.
Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.
Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

I found this book charming and inspiring, and I found that I couldn’t possibly put it down. I had to find out what would happen in the semi-epic love story that is infinite in its own way. The love story of Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace (Lancaster). The main characters (and the supporting ones) were very insightful and quite mature despite their age. And definitely used some big words. There was a lot of wisdom to this book. The characters were lovable but realistic and intelligent but not pretentious. Just a good book.

So, why did I have reservations about this book? I’ve read two John Green books already (I think before I started this blog, so that’s why there aren’t reviews and because I don’t remember enough about them to review them now). I’ve read An Abundance of Katherines and Looking for Alaska. And honestly, I wasn’t wild about either. Sorry. I felt like the characters weren’t very accessible (to me, at least), and the plots were kinda obscure. I just couldn’t connect to either book. So, when I heard a bunch of hype about this book, I didn’t feel inspired to get the book myself.

So, why did I pick it up at all? My sister got the book for Christmas. So, why did I pick up the book? I didn’t feel like reading Water for Elephants (which I will eventually finish and review), and I was looking for a book that I could sit down, get hooked on, and finish by the end of break. I wasn’t really expecting this book to be that book, but for some reason I picked it up anyway. And I’m quite glad I did.

I felt like all of the characters were quite likeable. I can’t really say I disliked any of them, not even Peter Van Houten (maybe a little bit, though…). But I can sympathize with Van Houten, ultimately. I thought Hazel Grace was intelligent and held her own in the story (aka: she wasn’t helpless or lovestruck because of a boy). She had depth to her, and I appreciated it. But how did she hold out on Gus for so long?? Gus kinda sorta really made me SA-WOON*. He was funny and romantic and sweet and oh so lovable. Yet, with all of his wonderfulness, he was flawed. But flaws make a character realistic and they make Gus even more perfect (of course no storybook character can be better than Wes from The Truth About Forever). Isaac was quite sweet too and his tragedy didn’t sour him one bit. I loved Hazel Grace’s father. He was such a good father.

While this book has a lot of cancer in it, the cancer doesn’t eclipse the other elements in the story. It shapes the story, but there’s so much more. There’s Hazel and Gus’ infinite love and insightful wisdom. There’s a lot of heart and honesty in the story. There are good supporting characters that enhance the story and have their own sub stories.

There’s really no complaints about this book.

Also, I really love John Green–and his brother, Hank Green. So, watch them on YouTube. They’re the vlogbrothers!! And nerdfighters! And friends with charlieissocoollike (Charlie McDonnell) and nerimon (Alex Day). Check them out too! They’re epic, and I must do a post on them, but probably on my other blog lifeiseveryday.wordpress.com.

Anyway… definitely go read the book. It’s awesome and rather EPIC.

*Sarah Dessen reference<333

2 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

  1. Pingback: 1. Paper Towns by John Green | kooblover

  2. Pingback: The Fault In Our Stars (movie) | kooblover

Leave a Reply

