Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

It was pretty good, but I’m not sure I’m one to judge.

The story follows a veterinarian dropout, Jacob Jankowski, who joins a circus. It’s set during the Great Depression. There are also flashes to the present when he is a ninety year old man.

Okay, so I started this book in November. Now it’s March. School and life just got in the way. Normally, books that really captivate me make me unable to do anything else until I finish. So, I guess this book didn’t truly captivate me. Unless, I just didn’t read enough of the book at a time to really get into it.

Ultimately, the story was pretty good after I read a good chunk in a sitting. The book definitely displays a lot of atrocities of the circus and the Depression era.

I wouldn’t call it a beach read, but it isn’t difficult to read. Just some heavyish content at times.

Leave a Reply

