1984 by George Orwell

I have mixed feelings on this book.

I had to read this book for school. Unfortunately, when I’m forced to read books I enjoy them thoroughly less than when I read them of my own will. Now, I’m not quite sure if I enjoy them less because they are forced upon me or because I’m just not interested in the book. I think it may be a combination of both. Anyway, I don’t tend to enjoy school books.

1984 was written in 1948. It’s a dystopia book about the future (which is now technically the past…). Basically, in the society, the leader is Big Brother, which is run by the Inner Party. Big Brother basically dumbs down society as time goes on, and its almost sole purpose is to gain more power. He gains power by controlling the people. There are Thought Police, etc. ensuring the devotion to Big Brother. The main character is Winston, and he despises Big Brother. The story gets sort of complicated, but that’s sort of the super generalized gist.

I don’t like dystopian books. They never used to bother me–until I read a bunch of them. They’re just all so similar. While this one is more thought-provoking than most others, it follows a similar format. There’s the main character who is disgruntled with the society he lives in. So, he wants to change it, and he tries. Oh, and he falls in love along the way. (I’m saying “he” because the main character in this book is a “he”)

Sometimes the book gets too political, and other times there are just lulls in the book. The description actually doesn’t sound bad. When we were starting the book, I thought that I may actually like it.

While I really want to like it, I just don’t. Now it may be because it’s the end of the year. Or maybe it’s because it’s a dystopian book. Or maybe, I just plain don’t like it.

Even though I don’t like it, I suggest you give it a try (if you like these sort of books and the description sounds interesting to you).

Leave a Reply

