Summer Reading Goals Complete?

Well, you may recall that I created a post at the beginning of the summer called Upcoming Book Reviews, where I discussed what I wanted to read this summer (if you haven’t read it, check it out).

Here are the results:

  • Yes, I completed The World Without Us by Alan Weisman! It was really good. Here’s my review on it.
  • I got halfway through William Faulkner’s The Sound and the Fury, and I had no idea what was happening, so I gave up on that…
  • Oh, The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling…I’ve had this book for nearly a year, but I can’t bring myself to read it, and I’m not sure why. Maybe I’m afraid to think of her as any other author than of the Harry Potter series, or maybe I’m afraid that I won’t like a book by her, the queen of my childhood authors.

The above are the books I said that I would definitely read. 1 out of 3. Woo :(

Now, I will tell you right now, I didn’t read any of the other books on my list. How depressing.

Instead, I read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Not my choice. I read it because of school. Or rather, I’m in the process of reading it.

I am still reading The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell, another book for school. Not bad.

I got partway through Quirkology by Richard Wiseman. I haven’t finished it yet because I haven’t been wild about it’s format. I think that there’re too many experiments rattled off without enough analysis.

Well, this summer’s reading goals were a FAIL.

 

Leave a Reply

