Preparing for Rome

Next year, I’m going on a family vacation to Rome, and I’m going to prepare for this trip by reading.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve focused so much on France. And then I went to France. I never really thought too deeply about other European countries. In Social Studies I studied a little bit of Roman mythology and I took a Western Civilization course, but the question is, how much information did I retain? Not much.

There is such a rich, lengthy history of Rome, and I know very little about it. My knowledge of Rome comes from watching The Lizzie McGuire Movie. Sad, I know. But I want to broaden my knowledge, so I’m going to read. I want to read all kinds of books. I want to read nonfiction, historical fiction, travel memoirs, etc. As long as the books don’t become too dry, I’m willing to read them.

After doing a quick Google search, “Rome books”, I’ve come up with a few that I’m considering:

  • Rome: The Biography of a City by Christopher Hibbert- I thought that this one would give me a broad overview. I know that it’s difficult to put so much history into one book, but for a person who is such a beginner, I thought it would be useful. So, I think I’ll start with this one.
  • I, Claudius by Robert Graves- This one kept coming up, so I figured, maybe?
  • The Pope’s Daughter by Caroline R. Murphy
  • Cleopatra’s Daughter by Michelle Moran

If you have ANY suggestions, PLEASE comment below!! I’m open to anything!

 

Leave a Reply

