Just One Day by Gayle Foreman

I couldn’t put this book down!

The story takes place at the during Allyson Healey’s supposed trip of a lifetime touring Europe the summer before she goes to college in Boston. Allyson is a goody two shoes and rarely, if ever, steps out of her comfort zone. One evening, while in a “queue” (line) for Shakespeare’s play Hamlet, along with the rest of the tour group, a handsome Dutch boy, Willem, invites her to watch him act in the play Twelfth Night that same evening. She takes a chance and goes to see him. The next day on the train she runs into Willem, and they spend a magical day together. The novel continues after that day, following Allyson for an entire year.

I don’t read very often. I just don’t have time. And if I’m being honest, tv requires a lot less energy than reading. But when I do read, I block out a chunk of time and I sit down and just read the whole thing. That’s what I did with this novel, and I couldn’t put it down! The description sounded like t could be super corny, but the writing had a good dose of normalcy. While written in the first person, she doesn’t get too swoony or annoying.

I had thought he novel took place completely in one day, but I’m so glad that it didn’t. Also, the novel leaves you with a HUGE cliffhanger. I can’t wait to find out what happens next.

I also love how a great deal of the novel takes place in Europe. It makes me want to travel the world.

I find that is rare in YA fiction that the world and writing are realistic and level-headed. I enjoyed Foreman’s writing. While, the concept is somewhat crazy and out there, it’s still reasonable and takes me on an adventure.

I highly recommend it.

2 thoughts on “Just One Day by Gayle Foreman

  1. Pingback: 1. Paper Towns by John Green | kooblover

  2. Pingback: 2. Just One Year by Gayle Forman | kooblover

Leave a Reply

