A New Year’s Resolution

a book-related one.

I simply don’t read enough. Maybe I read more than the average person, but for me it’s not enough (last year, I read about 7 books unrelated to school). When I was little I would read multiple books at a time, and I would every single day. I never would have imagined that my life would become so busy that reading would be put on the back burner.

Now, I’m not going to claim that I’m so busy that I couldn’t possibly find time to read. Because I could. Instead of turning on Netflix, I could open up a book. I could read instead of watching YouTube videos or mindlessly browsing the internet.

So, my New Year’s resolution is to read one book per month that is purely for leisure (aka not for school).

I think this resolution will be easier to keep up in January, February, and March. Then, things will start to get a little crazy with spring break and end of the school year and leaving for college.

I will be kicking off the year with Paper Towns by John Green. I really love him as a person (go watch his YouTube videos), and I loved The Fault In Our Stars (like every other girl in the world…). I have mixed feelings about An Abundance of Katherines and Saving Alaska, but maybe I’ll go back and read those.

When I read a book, nowadays, I basically set aside the weekend to read. I like to read books that I just can’t put down. If I put a book down, and it hasn’t captured my interest, chances are I won’t be picking it up again.

If you have any book suggestions, let me know!!

2 thoughts on “A New Year’s Resolution

  1. Pingback: 1. Paper Towns by John Green | kooblover

  2. Pingback: A Much Belated Update | kooblover

Leave a Reply

