Lee Daniels’ The Butler

This movie was really powerful.

As Cecil Gaines serves eight presidents during his tenure as a butler at the White House, the civil rights movement, Vietnam, and other major events affect this man’s life, family, and American society. (imdb.com)

I didn’t think that I would like this movie at all. I thought that it would be too serious and too much of an “adult” movie (aka, boring). Boy, was I wrong.

I liked that the movie truly took you through Cecil’s life, starting early on. It gave you a feel for where he was coming from.

Watching the movie, it really amazes me how horrible human beings can be, especially to one another. The worst part is that some parts were footage from real life. Real footage of police with hoses spraying black people with high-pressured water.

I also think that the movie what the movie shows is pretty miraculous. Within one man’s life, the slaves had been recently freed and a black president was elected.

When I heard about the movie, I thought it would be more about what Cecil saw and heard while working at the White House. I thought that the movie was actually more of a story about what it was like to work at the White House and live as a black person in a white-dominated culture.

A must watch.

Leave a Reply

