1. Paper Towns by John Green

I want to say that I really liked this book.

The book is from the perspective of high school senior, Quentin Jacobsen. He has always been in love with Margo Roth Spiegelman. When she goes missing, he makes it his mission to find her.

The book definitely has a lot more to it than that synopsis, but that’s the basic gist of it.

I really do want to like the book because I really enjoyed The Fault In Our Stars, and I enjoy watching John Green on Youtube. But, this book wasn’t very relatable for me. Or something. It had a very strange layout and the whole plot of the book did not make me want to keep reading. I think that the problem is that, while Q was obsessed with the idea of Margo, I never felt the same draw. So, I could’t connect with the goal of trying to find her.

In the end, I liked the message of the story. I liked how John Green discussed the difference between a person from far away and up close. My favorite part of the novel was the road trip, which had some laugh-out-loud moments. Sadly, I wasn’t motivated to read the book until the last quarter or so. But, because it was John Green, I pushed through (I hate to have to use that phrase).

With that said, I have official finished my first book of the year. The first of twelve, since I’m trying to read a book a month. Oh my.

So, the next book on my list is actually a sequel to Just One Day by Gale Forman, which is called Just One Year. I hope this is a book that I won’t be able to put down.

2 thoughts on “1. Paper Towns by John Green

  1. Pingback: 2. Just One Year by Gayle Forman | kooblover

  2. Pingback: 3. Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan | kooblover

Leave a Reply

