Friday Night Lights: First Impressions

I’m really into it.

The trials and tribulations of small town Texas football players, their friends, family, and coaching staff. (imdb.com)

I didn’t think that this would be a show that I really enjoyed. For one, it takes place in Texas–not really a place that particularly appeals to me. The big thing in town is football–definitely not something I’m into. But, my favorite writer, Sarah Dessen, happened to mention loving the show on her blog, a while back. It was on Netflix, so I decided to give it a try.

Really, the show is about the people. They tend to be. Everything seems so real. I can’t really personally connect with the characters, but they are very realistic for me. I love the way the show is filmed. There’s a bit of purposeful shaky camera to give it a “in-the-moment/real-life-feel to it. Also, I don’t think the show uses a lot of typical lighting because the lighting seems very natural and sometimes dark/bleak, as it can in real life.

I’m excited to see where the show goes.

Leave a Reply

