3. Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan

I loved this book!

The novel centers around four women who have gone to the all-women’s college, Smith College. April, Bree, Celia, and Sally are all very different and unlikely friends, but with their close living quarters they become nearly inseparable. The story is told, in present day, almost half a decade since they graduated from college. Each chapter is from the perspective of one of the girlS, and the reader learns how their friendship formed through flashbacks to their college days.

I thought that this book was relatable, funny, and full of love. This book is a fast read. It’s about friendship with a sprinkling of feminism. There is a lot of soul to the book, and you can’t help but feel as if you’re the fifth friend in their friendship.

I couldn’t put this book down. The characters were so realistic and perfectly imperfect. Each of the girls offered a different perspective on a situation.

Also, the flashbacks to their college says made me excited for my own college experiences. The book definitely gives an insiders view to am all women’s college, something that I can’t imagine experience.

I guess the third time really is the charm. This is the third book I’ve read this year; I’m trying to read a book a month (January: Paper Towns by John Green and February: Just One Day by Gayle Forman)

I highly recommend this book!

3 thoughts on “3. Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan

  1. I enjoyed reading your review. Last year, I read “The Engagements” and I’ve been meaning to read another novel by Sullivan. I went to an all woman’s college ( Mills in Oakland) so that peaks my interest as well!

  2. Pingback: 8. Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan | kooblover

Leave a Reply

