Downton Abbey: First Impressions

I am surprised.

Beginning in the years leading up to World War I, the drama centers on the Crawley family and their servants. (imdb.com)

I was extremely reluctant to watch this show, dismissing it as “a boring adult show”. Plus, why would I want to watch a show from PBS about hoighty toighty old British people?? Now, I guess, I ask why wouldn’t I?

I will admit the show is a bit confusing to watch, at first. I saw the first episode or two at least a year ago but didn’t pay much attention. So, I picked it back up again with the third episode. I was very confused because everyone looks so similar and dresses so similarly. After lots of pausing and questioning, I think I’ve got a pretty good grip after watching a few more episodes. My advice is to pay full and close attention to the show. Sometimes, I just end up missing a softly spoken or mumbled British line. This is not the kind of show you can watch while scrolling on your phone.

I’ve always loved things about the upper class. Their lives are always so fascinatingly decadent, and there’s always so much drama. I loved Gossip Girl and the books series, The Luxe. So, this show is just a drama about old-fashioned English people. It may not sound that appealing, but I’m telling you it sucks you in!

Give it a chance!

P.S. Maggie Smith (aka Professor McGonagall is in it!)

2 thoughts on “Downton Abbey: First Impressions

Leave a Reply

