4. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Not what I expected.

The novel is from two different perspectives—Eleanor and Park. They’re two high school student in the 80’s. Eleanor is new to Park’s high school. She’s a bit different and awkward, chubby and self conscious. Park is just a quiet Asian kid. They end up sitting together on the bus, and eventually a romance buds.

I wasn’t sure what I was expecting when I picked up this novel, but it definitely wasn’t what I read.

The book follows a first romance as it takes baby steps. First, there’s the question of attraction. Then, there’s admitting the attraction. Then they find they have common interests and start talking to each other, etc. each step is a baby step and viewed from each perspective. It really is adorable and quite relatable.

But the book has a bit more weight to it. Eleanor comes from a messed up family. Her mother is with an asshole, to put it lightly, and she is new to the school because he had kicked her out if the house for the past year. Yeah, really messed up.

It’s interesting read, but it may not be for everyone.

(And, yeah, I guess I technically read two books in March, but this gives me some time to study for AP exams in April, haha!) (Also, I can’t believe I’ve already read four books this year. This is normally the time when I never was my own books. Let me just say, if you make time for reading you can find time to reading.

Leave a Reply

