The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I actually kinda like it.

This novel is considered “The Great American Novel”. It is from the perspective of Nick Carraway, who lives in West Egg on Long Island in the 1920s. He is the neighbor of Jay Gatsby, who is a mysterious, rich, self-made man. Gatsby is in love with Daisy Buchanan (Nick’s cousin), and his primary goal is to win Daisy over. The novel explores the life of the rich and powerful from a third party perspective.

It’s difficult to create a synopsis of the novel because there are so many complex ideas addressed. I just gave a general idea of what the story is about. One of my favorite things about the novel is that while it addresses complex ideas, it is written simply enough that it is not difficult to understand. There is not too much deciphering to be done. I will admit that if you are thinking about other things while reading the book, it is easy to drift off and not comprehend what you’ve just read. Focus, and the story will be clear.

I’ve also always loved reading/watching things that address the upper class. I enjoyed reading Anna Godberson’s The Luxe series, I loved watching Gossip Girl, I enjoy Downton Abbey, and I used to be obsessed with the world of fashion. While the novel doesn’t really glamorize the upper class, I just enjoy the setting.

I also liked the novel for the points it makes. I think it is very true that money doesn’t make happiness. I also think that the relationships that are explored are interesting. Daisy has always loved Gatsby, but she can’t truthfully say that she never loved Tom. ETC. (I don’t want to give too much away.)

I did see the movie before I read the book. I hate doing that, but it ended up happening. I wouldn’t necessarily suggest it, but I did think that it helped me visualize what was happening, as I read. Use it as a supplement, if you must! But, really read the book. It’s good!

 

Leave a Reply

