6. The Summer We Read Gatsby by Danielle Ganek

So disappointed.

This novel is about two half sisters who inherit a cottage in the Hamptons from their late aunt. They bond over the summer, fall in love, and search for a missing painting, possibly by Jackson Pollock.

This book looked like it could be the perfect summer read. And let me tell you, the cover art looked oh so appealing. Yes, I totally judge books by their covers.

The book ended up dimly trying too hard. It tried to show not tell and be clever and breezy. Yet the next “plot twist” always seemed so completely obvious. I felt like the characters were very flat and cliched. Noting special or memorable. Am I being too harsh?

I did enjoy the end of the story where everyone lives happily ever after. Sort of.

Not worth it. I’m sorry.

 

P.S. Yes, I know it’s August, and I’ve finally finished my sixth book of the year. But, you’ll be glad to know that two more reviews will be on their way quite soon! I’m almost caught up!

Leave a Reply

