The Lost Girls by Jennifer Baggett, Holly Corbett, and Amanda Pressner

Travel inspiration!

Three friends, each on the brink of a quarter-life crisis, make a pact to quit their high pressure New York City media jobs and leave behind their friends, boyfriends, and everything familiar to embark on a year-long backpacking adventure around the world in The Lost Girls.

I really want to travel a bunch, so I’ve been trying to read travel memoirs. This is the first one that I’ve tried and read all of the way through. (I tried Bill Bryson’s Neither Here Nor There and A Year in the World by Frances Mayes, but I wasn’t wild about either of them.) I really liked the personalities of the three girls. Each chapter switches between the three different perspectives of the girls. When I think of traveling, my first continent on the list is always Europe. This book completely avoided Europe, and I found it to be fascinating and inspiring. It opened me up to a wide variety of places that I would not have thought to travel to. I liked the book because it felt like a story. I’ll admit that some parts become a bit dull, but they eventually pick up again. I really liked the first half of the book especially. I would recommend this book if you want travel inspiration as well as a good story.

Leave a Reply

